Drops Community

Spoken Arabic vs. Written: dialect

Hello. First of all I have to say thank you for this incredibly useful app (arabic). As for my suggestion and/or request. I was wondering (by the way this is in reference to a post I read- well actually the staff’s response relating grammar and sentence structure) that since the app was primarily developed for the purpose of supplying its learners with a broad list of words (enhance quick learning) a vocab list which I found to be highly effective especially when learning standard-written arabic. I wanted to request, using the same concept yet, encompasses spoken arabic- and supplies a broad list of words culturally specific to a region /dialect (i.e. colloquial use of language) since they’re not taught in any book. For me personally, I would hope to learn the levantine dialect; more specifically Syrian.

Thanks again. Also wanted to mention I’m new to this app incase I’ve happened to post prematurely while I continue to explore more within the app.

2 Likes

Hi @cmw,

Thanks for choosing Drops to learn Arabic words!

We constantly work hard on improving the app and content, and we appreciate feedback and requests like yours! We’ll discuss your ideas with the team, and we’ll see what we can do!

Keep playing, and let us know if there’s anything you would suggest us to refine!

Cheers,

Gina
@ The Drops Support Team

1 Like

I second this suggestion. I would love to see a few dialect options added…the most popular ones being Leventine, Khaleeji (Gulf), and Egyptian. No other app has this, even though it’s important since nobody speaks Modern Standard Arabic in daily conversations (MSA is used for formal situations such as political speeches and the news. People laugh at you if you try to use MSA everyday conversation :upside_down_face:).

1 Like