Drops Community

Sexist Visuals & Text

I’m studying French. I like Drops. It’s been a great addition to my studies, but I’m disappointed in the kind of sexist visuals & word choices: there’s a waitress, but no waiter–& she’s in heels, as if. All the sports figures are male. It’s not a very modern learning tool. Mix it up, Drops!

Thanks for playing Drops @Dahlila! We really appreciate your feedback!

We have definitely no intention to offend anyone with our illustrations. We can’t give you a time estimate when refinements will be introduced, but we constantly work hard on improving the app and the content, including illustrations, so please stay tuned!

Usually, these images are more memorable when it does cross over to exploitative visuals. From a memory point of view this is good. If you read Fluent Forever, it is recommended for better memory retention to attach imagery that has an emotional connection. I’m sure you haven’t forgotten the word waitress. Perhaps it could be a feature to attach a visual from a small set of images so as to offer an image that is meaningful to the user.

I don’t know Fluent Forever. I can see your point, but there’s no “waiter” card. & I haven’t remembered waitress, bc I get bummed every time I see it.

SJWs have overused the words sexist and racist so such that they’ve diluted their meaning. THE MAJORITY of people that serve food in a restaurant are women - who sometimes choose to dress up nicely wearing make-up and perhaps even high heels, in order to get better tips. And MOST athletes are men. So stop fighting the differences in the sexes and embrace these differences.

Dear Drops, this guy (above) is exactly the kind of idiocy I’m hoping you might want to help squelch, as you are in essence a teacher.

Also, I just began French: “relations”, & “boss” = “patron” is a man. (I really do like your app, but these visuals are kinda sad for a modern crowd.)